Irish Ale Pork Chops with Cabbage and Apples

IMG_2111

Hello foodies and music lovers, sorry I haven’t posted in a while. I have been busy auditioning for grad-school. I’ve been practicing and singing up a storm so keep I’m keeping my fingers crossed and hopefully I get some good news soon. I am still new to this whole blogging thing so I apologize that these next few recipes are coming to you a little late, I will get better at this I promise.

Any way, I am so excited because  St. Patrick’s day is this weekend. It is one of my favorite holidays, mainly because it is just a big reason to party. So I thought I would tap into my inner Irish and come up with some recipes to celebrate my heritage and get  in the green isle spirit.

Many of you probably have heard of the Irish dish Corn-beef and Cabbage, it is very popular this time of year but I must confess… I HATE IT! Maybe because I have never had  good corn-beef and cabbage I don’t know, either way I stir clear of it. However I wanted to create a dish that incorporated cabbage in some way. My solution Irish Ale Pork-Chops with sautéed Cabbage and Apples.

This  delicacies alternative will have your taste buds doing the Irish Jig in now time. In this recipe I ditched the corn-beef and I traded it for pork-chops, and instead of boring old cabbage  that just stinks up your kitchen, I use sweet apples, savory thyme and the most important Irish ingredient of all Beer!

Ingredients:

4 Pork- Chops

1/4 flour

1 tsp salt

1/4 pepper

2 tbs olive oil

3 tbs butter

6 sprigs of fresh thyme

1 1/2 tsp caraway seeds

4 apples, peeled and sliced ( I prefer either fuji or granny smith)

4 cups shredded cabbage (approximately 1 medium sized cabbage will yield 4 cups)

2 bottles of Irish Ale*

 *My favorite beer to use is Smithwick’s Irish Ale it is brewed by the same brewery as Guinness.  If you can’t find an Irish Ale a stout beer will work  fine. I do think the dish tastes better when you use Smithwick’s though, plus I love to take a couple of swigs for myself while I’m cooking, hey I’m Irish what can I say.

IMG_2105

Directions:

Place the four pork chops in a zip-lock and pour one of the bottles of beer into the bag with the chops. Make sure the chops are fully covered with beer. Place the bag into the fridge and let the meat marinade in the beer for 4 hours. After the 4 hours take out the chops and pat dry. 

In a shallow dish measure out the flour, salt and pepper and mix together. Slightly coat each pork-chop with the flour mixture, make sure to shake of any access. In a large skillet heat up 2 tbs of olive oil over hight heat. Add the pork chops and brown on each side for about 2 minuets. Make sure to not crowd the pan other wise you will not get an even browning. If you have to, cook the pork in 2 batches. 

When the pork is nice and brown on both sides, remove from the pan and place the chops on a plate. Turn the heat down to medium and add the butter, when the butter is melted add 1/2 of the other bottle of beer to deglaze the pan by scrapping up all the yummy brown bits from the bottom with a wooden spoon. The deglazing process adds so much flavor to the cabbage and apples. Next add  the cabbage, apples, caraway seeds, and 1 tsp salt+1/4 tsp pepper. Stir ingredients together so that they are well coated with the beer and butter. Place the pork-chops back into the pan on top of the cabbage

and apples, and add the thyme springs.

Pour in the other half of the beer, loosely cover the pan and let it slowly cook on medium heat for about 15 minuets. Pork-chops should reach an internal temperature of 160º. Take the pork-chops out, place them on a plate and cover with aluminum foil and let rest for another 10 minuets.

Uncover your pork chops and add those delicious meaty juices into your cabbage and apples. Heat the cabbage and apples through before serving. Then pile it up high onto those delicious juicy chops, pour yourself a nice cold beer and dig in.

Hope  you enjoy, have a very Green and Happy St. Patrick’s Day.

IMG_2113

One thought on “Irish Ale Pork Chops with Cabbage and Apples

Leave a Reply

