Happy St. Patrick’s Day

St. Patrick’s Day is one of my favorite days of the year. I love celebrating my heritage, getting all dressed up in green, drinking good beer, and most of all I love listening to all that great Celtic Music. I love it, from the beautiful ballads like Danny Boy,to the fun Irish drinking songs and Jigs, Celtic music to me is St. Patrick’s Day. So to help you find your inner Irish. Down below  are some of my favorite tunes. There is even one of me singing on here, I hope you like it.  You can also find more Irish tunes at the right hand side of your screen under  St. Patrick’s Day Music. I hope this playlist will help you get inspired to cook up these Green and Irish dishes.

07 Gerty’s Farewell by Black 47

12 Tis the last Rose of Summer sung by yours truly Lesley Baird
IMG_2100

Kick of the day with something green for St. Patrick’s Day. I call this recipe Green Eggs and Ham Benedict. I was inspired by the classic children’s book “Green Eggs and Ham” by Dr. Seuss. The Chive and Parsley Hollandaise Sauce is delicious and by adding  fresh herbs it gives the sauce a gorgeous shade of green as pretty as the green hills of Ireland themselves. 

IMG_2088

For lunch try a bowl of this hearty Potato Leek Soup with Irish Soda Bread Croutons. No Irish meal would be complete without potatoes and the added arugula gives the soup nice depth of flavor plus that special hue of St. Patty’s Day green. Fresh and toasty Irish Soda Bread Croutons are the perfect way to top of this hearty bowl of soup.

IMG_2111

Finish your St. Patrick’s Day with my take on an Irish classic ” Corn-beef and Cabbage”. I traded in the standard corn-beef for pork-chops and I slow cooked them with cabbage, apples, thyme, and the most important Irish ingredient of all… Beer! Cook up these Irish Ale Pork Chops with Cabbage and Apples and your taste buds will be doing the Irish Jig in no time.

Leave a Reply

